Meet Our Couples : Andrew and Catherine

Today we are thrilled to introduce you to one of our wonderful September couples, Andrew Lewis and Catherine Pogson! They are so sweet and we are really excited to work with them on their beautiful celebration next month!

photo-6

Soirée : Where do you live? 

A + C : Andrew and I are living with our families in Kansas City until our wedding in September. Andrew finished his degree in May, and I just completed mine at the end of July. We are still in study mode, as we both are in the middle of taking our board exams. After our honeymoon, we are moving to St. Louis. Andrew will begin his career at Deloitte, and I hope to work in the NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit) at St. Louis Children’s Hospital. We are excited for this adventure together in a new city!

PogsonEng0022

Soirée : How did you meet?

A+C : Andrew’s family moved from Denver the summer before his senior year. We met in physics at Pembroke Hill, and he and his friends faithfully came to my volleyball games. I admired him from afar, but assumed he was out of my league since he was one year older than me! Little did I know he also had a crush on me. For the next few years, we remained friends and did not pursue each other until the timing was right. We started dating after my freshman year of college (his sophomore year). We dated long distance for three years, which strengthened our relationship so much. I went to Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, NC, and Andrew went to University of Missouri (Mizzou) in Columbia, MO. As soon as I graduated in May 2013, I moved to Columbia to be with Andrew and to begin the Accelerated Nursing Program at Mizzou. We have cherished being able to see each other every day this past year!

photo-7

Soirée : Tell us about your proposal?

A+C : Our proposal was simple and low key, which was exactly what I wanted! I flew home to spend Valentine’s Day weekend (2013) with Andrew. Since it had fallen on a weekday the past couple of years, this was our first Valentine’s Day together. We enjoyed a nice dinner at Houston’s on the Plaza, and Andrew proposed right after. It completely caught me off guard, especially since he assured me that he would never propose on a holiday. In my mind, I had eliminated Valentine’s Day as an option! He picked out the ring on his own, which was called the “Beethoven ring.” I don’t think it’s a coincidence that the last song I listened to on my flight home that Friday night was Beethoven’s No. 1 Symphony (I am a music nerd)!

PogsonEng0139

Soirée : Describe your wedding vision

A+C : Seasonal, elegant, and original.

Soirée : What are you most looking forward to on your wedding day?

A+C : Andrew and I are waiting to see each other, so we are most looking forward to seeing each other at the end of the aisle!

Soirée : Why did you choose to hire a wedding coordinator?

A+C : Since we have had a long engagement (over one year and a half), we have certainly had sufficient time to plan our wedding! We were attracted to the idea of planning the majority of the wedding on our own, yet wanted some extra assistance with all of the last minute details leading up to our wedding. The “month of” wedding coordinator package seemed like the perfect fit for us. Although we have not “officially” begun working with Lynsey, she has graciously answered all of our questions and has given us wonderful suggestions over the past year. We are so grateful that Lynsey will be able to tie all our loose ends during August and September!

PogsonEng0003 

Soirée : Do you have any words of wisdom for couples going through the planning process?

A+C : Savor this special time, focus on each other and try not to fret over the little details. Take the planning process one step (or vendor) at a time, instead of looking at your to-do list as whole. Everything will iron itself out!

PogsonEng0146

Soirée : Anything else you’d like to share with your readers?

A+C : Talk about your wedding vision together, so that it reflects you as a couple (not just the bride)! As far as planning goes, discuss and honor each other’s top priorities. Andrew asked that his cousin bless our marriage, and I asked that my former cello teacher and her husband perform during our ceremony. It’s great to be able to incorporate both of our wishes into the service!

 

We love their outlook on this special time! Congratulations on your upcoming nuptials, Andrew and Catherine. We are looking forward to serving you in this final month!

-Soirée Event Designs

Engagement Photography by Freeland Photography.

Leave a Reply

